The Jane Addams Peace Association was founded in 1948 "to foster a better understanding between the people of the world toward the end that wars may be avoided and a more lasting peace enjoyed." Since 1953 we have honored the outstanding children's books promoting peace and justice with the Jane Addams Children's Book Awards.


"2014 Jane Addams Book Awards Highlight Human Rights"
by Rocco Staino on November 12, 2014 from School Library Journal

Human rights was the overarching theme in the books recognized at the 61st annual Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards, presented during a ceremony at in New York City on October 17... The two winning books, Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers’ Strike of 1909, written by Michelle Markel and illustrated by Melissa Sweet, and Sugar by Jewell Parker Rhodes... take a look at human rights through the lens of American history.

Jewell Parker Rhodes and students
Sugar author Jewell Parker Rhodes with students from Brooklyn’s Mary White Ovington School.

See videos of acceptance speeches from the awards at the School Library Journal website.


Congratulations to the 61st Jane Addams Children's Book Awardees Michelle Markel, Melissa Sweet, Jewell Parker Rhodes, Debbie Levy, Vanessa Brantley-Newton, Elizabeth Suneby, Suana Verelst, Kathryn Erskine, and Anne Westrick.

2014 Winners and Honor books


Announcement made by Dr. Marianne Baker speaking on behalf of the Jane Addams Children's Book Award Selection Committee.

The Jane Addams Peace Association gives these awards annually for children's books that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, the equality of the sexes and equality of all races. The winning books also meet conventional standards of excellence.

Press Release: Word | PDF


TEL 212-682-8830


Subscribe to Jane Addams Peace Association


Google Groups

© 2015 Jane Addams Peace Association