2016 Winners and Honor books

Congratulations to the 64th Jane Addams Children's Book Awardees Susan Lynn Meyer, Eric Velasquez, Lynda Blackmon Lowery, Elspeth Leacock, Susan Buckley, PJ Loughran, Edwidge Danticat, Leslie Staub, Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, R. Gregory Christie, Jonah Winter, Shane W. Evans, Marilyn Hilton.

Press Release: Word | PDF

Promotional Items: Printable Bookmarks & Posters

Honoring children's books since 1953

students group with Red Shoes art

Illustrator Shane Evans with students attending the 2016 Jane Addams Children's Book Award Ceremony

The Jane Addams Children's Book Awards are given annually to the children's books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence.



© 2016 Jane Addams Peace Association