What are the Jane Addams Children's Book Awards?

The Jane Addams Children's Book Awards are given annually to the children's books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence.


The Jane Addams Children's Book Awards have been presented annually since 1953 by the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (WILPF) and the Jane Addams Peace Association. Beginning in 1993, a Picture Book category was created. Honor books may be chosen in each category.

Eleanor Roosevelt

Eleanor Roosevelt and Marta Teele, JACBA founder,
present Mr. Arna Bontemps with the 1956 Award
for the second edition of his book The Story of the Negro.


Authors and artists of award-winning and honor books each receive a certificate and a cash award. Seals designating each recognition are available for purchase by publishers, libraries, schools and others wanting them from the Jane Addams Peace Association.


Between 1963 and 2002, announcement of the awards was made each fall on the September anniversary of Jane Addams' birth date. Beginning in 2003, the award winners are announced on April 28, the anniversary of the founding of WILPF. An awards presentation, open to all, is held each year on the third Friday of October.


Jane Addams Peace Association FAQs

Contact address for questions and book submissions:
Ann Carpenter
Chair, Jane Addams Children's Book Award
Brooks Free Library
739 Main Street
Harwich, MA 02645

Contact to order award winning seals: Linda Belle at JAPA@igc.org


For a printable version of all award winners and honorees, please click here for the PDF.

Please ask for these books at your local library or independent bookstore.


© 2015 Jane Addams Peace Association